What – no cure? Maybe next October.

considering the lilies

Time to remove the pink ribbons from our lapels and gorge ourselves with Halloween candy. As November comes around, our grocery store shelves will turn from pink to the amber hues of Thanksgiving, and before we know it, we’ll be decorating Christmas trees and drinking egg-nog.

After an interminable month of pink ribbons and races, I will still have breast cancer. I haven’t made the five-year mark yet so we can’t say it’s in remission, and in spite of all the stories we hear about women who have been “cured,” the fact is that breast cancer may recur at any time. Long term remission is just not the same as being cured.

If I sound bitter, it’s because I am. Over this past October, nobody told me why I got breast cancer, or why my daughter’s favorite teacher got breast cancer, or why some of my blogging friends have found out that their cancer…

View original post 1,524 more words

One thought on “What – no cure? Maybe next October.

Leave a Reply

